Psychoneuroendocrinology, Neuroimaging and Molecular Genetics of Neuropsychiatric Diseases

Strategic objectives

  • To define risk genes for the development of bipolar disorder, schizophrenia, mild cognitive impairment (MCI), Alzheimer’s disease (AD), and morbid obesity (MO).
  • To define early cognitive, genetic, and neuroimaging markers of progression from MCI to dementia.
  • To find out whether functional connectivity measures using Magnetoencephalography can differentiate between patients with AD, MCI, and control subjects.
  • To characterise differences in anatomical connectivity by Diffusion Tensor imaging between patients with AD, MCI, and control subjects.
  • To delimit the possible existence of a relationship between genetic profiles and parameters of anatomical-functional connectivity and cognitive function, in patients with MCI and AD and in control subjects, and their impact on the evolution from MCI to AD.

Lines of research

  • Study of the biological basis and genetic susceptibility of neuropsychiatric diseases based on endophenotypes measurable by neuroendocrine, neurophysiological, psychological, and neuroimaging tests.
  • Study of the influence of stress on the emergence and development of mental disorders.
  • Genetic, cognitive, and neuroimaging markers of progression from mild cognitive impairment to dementia.
  • Study of the evolution of neuropsychological profiles in people at high risk of Alzheimer’s disease.
  • Analysis of electrophysiological recordings, source reconstruction, and measures of functional connectivity in healthy ageing, mild cognitive impairment, Alzheimer’s type dementia, and regression through the different stages of this disease.
  • Neuropsychological impairment and brain connectivity by EEG and MRI-DTI post-COVID-19.
  • Study of the cognitive mechanisms involved in memory and oblivion during healthy ageing and cognitive impairment.

Other members of the group

  • Aranzazu Aparicio Vizuete
  • Laura Maria Bermejo Lopez
  • Ricardo Bruña Fernandez
  • Pablo Cuesta Prieto
  • Maria Luisa Delgado Losada
  • Jaime Gomez Ramirez
  • Maria Eugenia Lopez Garcia
  • Ana Maria Lopez Sobaler
  • Ramon Lopez-Higes Sanchez
  • Fernando Maestu Unturbe
  • Rosa Maria Ortega Anta
  • Javier Pacios Garcia